MAYOR NUTTER STATEMENT ON SELECTION OF A NEW POPE

Philadelphia, March 13, 2013–  Mayor Michael A. Nutter released the following statement on the selection of Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio as Pope Francis I:

 

“On behalf of the City of Philadelphia, we are excited that Pope Francis I has been chosen by the College of Cardinals to lead the Roman Catholic Church in the coming years.  I look forward to his worldwide leadership, in not only bringing a message of service and faith to Catholics around the world but to every person, as we seek peace and express our hopes for the future.

 

The hundreds of thousands of Philadelphia Catholics and the City’s Catholic institutions and schools will rejoice during this period of renewal for the Church and I will join them in praying for Pope Francis I.

 

I am hopeful that Pope Francis I will come to Philadelphia as soon as possible.  I am hopeful that he will participate in the World Meeting of Families, already announced to be help in Philadelphia in 2015.”

Posted in Arts & Culture, Mayor's Press Releases, Neighborhoods, Press Release, Topics
Archives
Categories
Top Rated Posts
