Mayor Nutter Releases Statement on Passing of Augusta Clark

October 14, 2013 – Mayor Michael A. Nutter issued the following statement regarding the passing of former City Councilwoman Augusta Clark:

 

“On behalf of the entire City of Philadelphia, I wish to express our official – and my personal – sympathies to Councilwoman Clark’s family and friends.

 

“I met Gussie Clark thirty years ago and since that time, she’s been a friend, colleague, supporter and mentor.  My wife Lisa and I were able to see Gussie in the hospital just last Thursday, and fortunately, she was resting peacefully.

 

“Gussie Clark has meant so much to so many of us engaged in social and political struggles; she was an incredible champion for children and education, she encouraged and mentored so many women – including my wife Lisa – and she spoke truth to power.  When Gussie spoke, everyone listened and then took action.

 

“We’ve suffered so many losses recently in the political world – Councilwoman Clark, Councilwoman Krajewski and Congressman Bill Gray.   They are all missed and admired.

 

“I’ve had the privilege of learning many lessons from Gussie Clark; I will keep her spirit close to my heart and in the forefront of my efforts for our great City.

 

“I have ordered all City flags to stand at half-mast in her honor.  Councilwoman Augusta Clark was a treasure and we all benefited from knowing her and experiencing her work. She will be deeply missed.”

Posted in Mayor's Press Releases, Neighborhoods, Press Release, Topics
Archives
Categories
Top Rated Posts
