Mayor Nutter Tapped To Co-Chair USCM ‘My Brother’s Keeper’ Task Force

Philadelphia, June 20, 2014 – Mayor Michael A. Nutter was selected to co-chair the United States Conference of Mayors newly created “My Brother’s Keeper” Task Force, which will support President Barack Obama’s My Brother’s Keeper” Initiative.  In response to the creation of the Task Force and his selection as co-chair, Mayor Nutter issued the following statement:

“As the Mayor of the City of Philadelphia, co-founder of Cities United and a member of USCM, I stand with President Obama and my fellow mayors in pledging to do all that I can to ensure every young person – especially boys and young men of color — can reach their full potential.   I am honored to serve as co-chair of the new task force, along with Mayor William Bell of Birmingham, Alabama, and I commend Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson, President of USCM, for taking action to establish this task force today.

“With the launch of President Obama’s ‘My Brother’s Keeper’ initiative last February, the federal government joined mayors as a strong partner in efforts to implement practical, results-driven strategies that ensure young men and boys of color are on equal footing with their peers and have the opportunity to achieve the American dream.

“I strongly support all efforts that bring visibility to this issue and find solutions to aid men of color who are disproportionately affected by high rates of violent crime, incarceration and unemployment, and I look forward to working with the USCM ‘My Brother’s Keeper’ Task Force to address these issues.”

Posted in Mayor's Press Releases, Press Release
Archives
Categories
Top Rated Posts
