Philadelphia, October 6, 2015 – In celebration and recognition of ‘International Walk to School Day’ on Wednesday, October 7th, Mayor Michael A. Nutter urges Philadelphians to consider and practice traffic safety techniques every day.


“In Philadelphia, 30% of pedestrians who are hit by drivers are under the age of 18.   This is a preventable tragedy,” said Mayor Nutter. “It is everyone’s job—whether you are a parent, aunt, uncle, teacher, friend, or neighbor—to teach our children to walk and bike to school safely.  In addition, we need to make sure that those of us who drive vehicles do so in a responsible way, especially in neighborhoods and near school and recreation center buildings, so that everyone has a safe environment in which to walk.”


To raise awareness around this important issue, Mayor Nutter has asked Philadelphia school communities to join schools around the world in recognizing International Walk to School Day.


Tips to discuss with children about walking safely include:

  • Look up and put distractions away
  • Stop, look, and listen before crossing the street
  • Make eye contact with drivers to be sure they see you
  • Walk on sidewalks and watch out for cars that are turning or backing up
  • Follow traffic signs and signals
  • Cross the street at the corner and in the crosswalk


In addition, for those who drive, remember to:

  • Slow down and drive 15 mph in school zones and the speed limit in other locations
  • Watch out for small children, especially when turning or backing up
  • Be courteous and predictable around all who walk, especially children
  • Put down your cell phone and other distractions and engage fully in the task of driving


The Philadelphia Mayor’s Office of Transportation & Utilities and Department of Public Health sponsor Safe Routes Philly,, an initiative to teach children how to walk and bike to school safely.  In partnership with Safe Routes Philly, the following 13 Philadelphia public schools will participate in Walk to School Day:


  • Alexander Adaire Elementary School
  • Bach Martin Elementary School
  • Cook-Wissahickon Elementary School
  • Frances Willard Elementary School
  • Hamiliton Disston Elementary School
  • Henry C. Lea Elementary School
  • H. Taggart Elementary School
  • James J. Sullivan Elementary School
  • Meredith Elementary School
  • Samuel Powel Elementary School
  • Sheridan Elementary School
  • Solis Cohen Elementary School
  • William Cramp Elementary School.
Posted in Mayor's Press Releases, Press Release
Top Rated Posts
%d bloggers like this: